Keynote Speakers

Luca Benini


Luca Benini is the chair of digital Circuits and Systems at D-ITET ETHZ. He received a Ph.D. degree in electrical engineering from Stanford University in 1997.

He has served as Chief Architect for the Platform2012/STHORM project in STmicroelectronics, Grenoble in the period 2009-2013. He is also a professor at University of Bologna and has held visiting and consulting researcher positions at EPFL, IMEC, Hewlett-Packard Laboratories, Stanford University.

Dr. Benini's research interests are in the design of energy-efficient digital systems with special emphasis on ultra-low-power System-on-Chip and green HPC systems. He is also active in the area of smart sensors and sensor networks for consumer, biomedical and Internet-of-Things applications. In these areas he has coordinated tens of funded projects, including an ERC Advanced Grant on Multi-scale thermal management of Computing Systems.

He has been general chair of the Design Automation and Test in Europe Conference, of the Network on Chip Symposium and of the International Symposium on Low Power Electronics and Design. He is Associate Editor of the IEEE Transactions on Computer-Aided Design of Circuits and Systems and the ACM Transactions on Embedded Computing Systems.

He has published more than 700 papers in peer-reviewed international journals and conferences, four books and several book chapters. He is a Fellow of the IEEE and the ACM and a member of the Academia Europaea. He is the recipient of the 2016 IEEE CAS Mac Van Valkenburg award.

Edith Beigné


Edith Beigné joined Facebook Inc. in Menlo Park in November 2018 to lead the AR/VR Silicon Research team. Before that, she was with CEA-LETI, Grenoble, France, from 1998 to 2018 where she was the Research Director of Integrated Circuits and System Division.

Since 2009, she has been a senior scientist in the digital and mixed-signal design lab where she focused on low power and adaptive circuit techniques, exploiting asynchronous design and advanced technology nodes like FDSOI 28nm and 14nm for many different applications from high performance MPSoC to ultra-low power IoT applications.

Her main research interests today are low power digital and mixed-signal circuits and design with emerging technologies.

She is part of ISSCC TPC since 2014 and part of VLSI’symposium since 2015. Distinguished Lecturer for the SSCS in 2016/2017, Women-in-Circuits Committee chair and JSSC Associate Editor since 2018. She visited Stanford University in 2018.

Tinoosh Mohsenin

University of Maryland

Tinoosh Mohsenin is an Associate Professor in the Department of Computer Science and Electrical Engineering at University of Maryland Baltimore County, where she directs Energy Efficient High Performance Computing (EEHPC) Lab. She received her PhD from University of California, Davis in 2010 and M.S. degree from Rice University in 2004, both in Electrical and Computer Engineering.

Prof. Mohsenin’s research focus is on designing highly accurate and energy efficient embedded processors for machine learning, signal processing and knowledge extraction techniques for autonomous systems, wearable smart health monitoring, and embedded big data computing.

She has over 100 peer-reviewed journal and conference publications and is the recipient of NSF CAREER award in 2017, the best paper award in the GLSVLSI conference in 2016, and the best paper honorable award in ISCAS 2017 for developing domain-specific accelerators for biomedical, deep learning and cognitive computing.

She currently leads 8 research projects in her lab which are all funded by National Science Foundation (NSF), Army Research Lab (ARL), Laboratory for Physical Sciences, Northrop Grumman, Boeing and Nvidia.

She has served as Associate Editor in IEEE Transactions on Circuits and Systems-I (TCAS-I) and IEEE Transactions on Biomedical Circuits and Systems (TBioCAS). She is the General Chair of 30th ACM GLSVLSI co nference and was the Program Chair and Local Arrangement Chair for the 29th ACM GLSVLSI and 50th IEEE ISCAS, respectively. She has also served as technical program committee member of the IEEE International Solid-State Circuits Conference Student Research (ISSCC-SRP), IEEE Biomedical Circuits and Systems (BioCAS), IEEE International Symposium on Circuits and Systems (ISCAS), ACM Great Lakes Symposium on VLSI (GLSVLSI and IEEE International Symposium on Quality Electronic Design (ISQED) conferences. She also serves as secretary of IEEE P1890 on Error Correction Coding for Non-Volatile Memories.


© 2019

2020 IEEE International Conference on Artificial Intelligence Circuits and Systems.